Thanksgiving State of Mind

I live in the Philippines. And we don’t celebrate a national holiday called Thanksgiving. We don’t have falling leaves or the start of snow fall to match our roasted turkey dinners with our families. But being a deviant and a renegade, I celebrate Thanksgiving in my own little ways. Because Thanksgiving is just  a state of mind. And also, this post is not that obligatory at all. I am in the best mood to post something that does not showcase the dark cloud that has found it’s niche above my head.

The year 2012 (is the last. –hopefully the Mayan calendar is true, for some dark reasons), has been pretty much a high for me. It is this year when I always look at the half-empty, half-full glass as completely full. Of course, technically there’s air on the “empty” regions of the container. This only means that you just have to look at the bigger picture, and make the dark side a bright one. (The last statement is such a contradiction to the mood that I have built up in this blog). But to get this over with, I want to express what I’m really thankful for this year.

First, I am thankful for my friends and foes. But more to my friends. Last year, I celebrated my Thanksgiving dinner alone with a roast turkey and mashed potatoes. Yep, ALONE. I was thankful for myself for keeping it together and being awesome no matter what. This year is no different (turkey breakfast though :P). But being awesome is magnified when you are around your deserving friends. I’m sooooo thankful to have met these people (you know who you all are, you can identify yourselves) and have been around them. Thank you for (insert everything that you want to hear from me here). But for the adventures and mishaps mostly. I’m still not good at the drama department and you all know that, but at least I’m trying. And of course, FOES! Without all of you, how could I ever appreciate a good life if I don’t see your miseries. Just stay miserable, horrible and terrible all at once, and we’re good!

I am also thankful for this academic year (blehk), and that this will hopefully be my last semester. I’m thankful that I was able to pull through an era of war and plague last semester. So thankful and humbled by the grades that I got. Indeed, you reap what you sow.

I’m of course, thankful for the family (not everyone, duh) who’s been there to support (some) of my endeavors. And being proud of who I have grown to, and even to the simplest little things (like being in the local paper). Ugh. But thanks!

And spotlight… I am thankful for myself for always keeping it classy (for most of the time) in moist situations (hahaha) and being positive on all the things that’s about to come (puns intended, lol). Buddy, always keep the dream. New York will be ours, and our Thanksgiving will not just be something that we make for ourselves just to satisfy our emptiness inside. Also remember that you had your epiphany moment today! (wink wink).

And while my gratifaction (grateful satisfaction, now I hereby give my cool stamp to this new word) level is over the top already, always remember that Thanksgiving is a state of mind. It doesn’t matter where you are and what your dinner is, be thankful for what you have and what you are about to have. Remember, STATE OF MIND.

2 thoughts on “Thanksgiving State of Mind

  1. hmm. trying to recall the epiphany..there GOT IT! will always be there to see u make it all happen oh-so-awesomely. I just loooove our FOES, really. But being awesome clark, has always been more than just a state of mind. Can’t help it, we just are. 😉 Thanks for everything homie. xx

Leave a Reply

