City Etiquette

When you decide to hit the big cities, expect that things will be quite different than what things are in your regular city. I did expect things differently, and I guess I overestimated what the city brings. Yes, it was crowded, very tall buildings, LRTs and MRTs, very long and congested highways, malls everywhere, extremely busy people who walk with a faster pace and all the likes. I expected all those, and I guess I expected too much. But my point is, how do you really adjust to the city living?

1. Trust no one. 

In a big city, you only have yourself to trust, or at least your companions. Everyone else is working at their own pace, time is always at their tails. As one of my companions have observed, they look like they are always running. The point is, time is not something they cannot waste as it is the fuel that makes the big cities tick. You can’t trust these people because this is a world of survival, only the fittest survive. Because if you can’t cope with the pace, the city will eat you out alive.

2. Get hydrated.

In your attempts at catching up with their pace, make sure that you have enough energy to get you going. People are wired relatively different in the cities. They make sure that they make it out alive at the end of the day, and also ready to survive yet another day.

3. Adjust with the culture.

Try your best to cope with the people around you. Usually, language is the barrier. That is why, it is best if you travel alone so that you are forced to adjust to how people are in the place you are at. Because if you travel by bulk, you would just feel like you are walking on the same ground. Observe how people do it.

4. Dare to stand out.

Don’t focus too much on adjusting that you are losing your sense of identity. Always be yourself. Don’t hesitate asking questions from strangers. HAHAHA

At least try following these tips because really, people will try to take advantage and fool you if you look too naive and trusting for a big city.

And really, I am not supposed to be here now, I should be reviewing or sleeping for tomorrow’s competition.. So I’m just gonna end this post hanging.

###

I’m the curbside prophet, and I’m looking for my rocket.

2 thoughts on “City Etiquette

Leave a Reply

