And This Legacy Award Goes To..

I have this Rizal class later this afternoon, and up to now I still have no homework to present. That is– to present in class your legacy in a creative way. Creative I can do, but do I really have my own legacy? This is something that has been bugging me for the past days with no resolution at all. If I don’t have a legacy at least I have this essay to present in class later on. Or let’s just see if I pick up something along the way.

As I have expressed from previous posts, I never excelled greatly at something. I’m your typical jack of all trades, not bad but not good as well. It actually sucks thinking you have nothing special about you, or at least that is what I think of myself. Let me just run down to the things that are on top of my list now.

Yes, I watch a handful, err a gazillion of TV shows, but what legacy does that give me? “The Legacy of Couch Potato”. I would have been proud of that, but that’s something my professor would not accept I assume. I mean, what makes watching a loooot of tv shows a legacy. Right?

Or maybe “The Legacy of Apathy.” If you have been around me for some time, you would know that my rule number one in life is: DO NOT CARE. Because when you do, things complicate and I am awkward in complex situations. At least when you don’t, nothing’s harmed and nothing’s lost. And again, is that a legacy my professor would accept? I doubt as well.

Oh of course, I go with the flow. And I somehow, in a way, sort of, roll with the punches. When life gives me lemons, I make lemonades. And when life gives me lemonades, I will make lemons. And then life will be like– whaaaat? Hmyeah, I got that from Phil Dunphy’s Phil’s-o-sophy. But the point is, I could get “The Legacy of Spontaneity”. Another proof I could get that legacy is I am writing this article with thoughts flowing right from the top of my head uncensored.

Oh yes, “Legacy of Bitterness”. If the basis for winning this award is the number of things someone hates in this world, then I would be the winner. Most people who know me can attest to that. It’s just that almost everything annoys me, yet here I am annoying you. But really, a legacy? Would my professor even take that? Right.

Or maybe, just maybe, because I’m just average at everything, someone else always beats me at a certain category, I should get “Legacy of Jack of All Trades”. But heck, there are people even better than me on this one. The above average jack of all trades.

I am exhausted. Thinking of what other legacies I could call mine and something I could pass unto my successors. But hey, I’m supposed to be selfish, I don’t wanna pass something that’s mine. And I am just saying that because I know nothing is mine. This has always been the case, always the nominee and never the winner. I am so used to it.

So, to answer my question.. no, I don’t have a legacy. That’s something. At least I know I have something that’s missing that eventually I’ll have to ask myself again in five years time. And professor, I am sorry I don’t have my homework. My dog ate it. Heck, I don’t even have a dog. But really, I’m just a screw up.

###

I’m just the curbside prophet, and that’s all I got.

One thought on “And This Legacy Award Goes To..

Leave a Reply

