Stepping out of the Shadow

Just a shadow

My entire life is built on a shadow cast back when I was younger; that I am this and that. My parents are academic achievers, so should I. They were responsible at a very young age, so should I. I was overshadowed by all their frustrations that they want me to be what they wanted to be back when they were younger. All of my life, I’ve been living with this shadow overhead.

Not only was I living in my own shadow, I’ve also been overshadowed by people around me, always under-appreciated and unrecognized.  Always a nominee, never the winner, blah blah blah.

Now that I am partially independent and gradually working on being a fully independent guy in his twenties, these shadows are a few of the things I wanna rid of. No shadow can dictate what I’m gonna do. I am my own shadow, and I only have to please myself (and that sounded so wrong, lol).

If I decide to be just a barista, who cares. If I get underemployed (in the near future), who cares. I cast my own shadow. And I’m also not gonna let other people be overshadowed by my shadow (if it happens) because I know what it feels to be just in a shadow.

###

I’m the curbside prophet and I need my rocket right now 😦

Leave a Reply

